Notes from the tilt a whirl

Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl is the second book I have read from author N.D. Wilson. The other book of his I have read is called Death By Living (see review HERE).

Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl is a book about the world around us and the interactions of both God and man with this world and each other. It is full of stories written with both humor and poetry.

I really wanted to like this book and my hopes were high since I loved reading Death By Living, but I really struggled to finish this one. The author is incredibly talented, detailed, and is very much an artist when it comes to writing. He paints great word pictures and is incredibly creative in how he describes the world around us. That said, the book reads like you’re actually on a tilt-a-whirl. It is at times confusing and even exhausting to get through. Now if that’s the authors goal, I guess the book is a huge success. But as a reader I guess at times it was more tiring than enjoyable.

Although I didn’t love reading the book, there are some very memorable lines:

“I’m grateful to God for the eyes in my head, and for the wildness of the spinning world these eyes see. This world, shaped by His words, can never be tamed by mine. But there is joy to be had in trying and falling short” (x).

“Christianity is no longer about changing the world. Christianity is no longer about facing the darkness and walking into shadow with souls full of light. We don’t see evil as a thing to be conquered, we don’t see life as a story with any kind of arc” (p. 152).

“…Hell will be wherever He is not” (p. 178).

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl” by N.D. Wilson

  1. I read this book a couple of years ago, and it was at times a bit meandering and/or unnecessarily dense. However, I did endure and was glad I finished the book. Wilson has one absolutely fantastic set of lines that I’ll paste here. I’ve come back to them many times as a parent of young children. “The world is rated R, and no one is checking IDs. Do not try to make it G by imagining the shadows away. Do not try to hide your children from the world forever, but do not pretend there is no danger. Train them. Give them sharp eyes and bellies full of laughter. Make them dangerous. Make them yeast, and when they’ve grown, they will pollute the shadows.”

Leave a Reply

