god of the underdogs

God of the Underdogs is written by Matt Keller, the founding pastor of Next Level Church in Ft. Myers FL.

The book examines numerous people (underdogs) in scripture and how God was for them and with them, like He is today with you and I (also underdogs). The Biblical examples include: David, Paul, Jacob, John the Baptist, Jesus, Mephibosheth, Gideon, Esther, and Moses.

The book is a very quick and easy read, and I think it would especially be an encouragement to new or younger Christians. The biblical stories are often retold with a modern day spin (i.e. “Samuel…was probably wearing pajama pants around the house and eating chips on the couch” p. 10). This kind of retelling or commentary on scripture can seem unnecessary for some readers, and others may enjoy the light humor.

The two chapters I especially enjoyed were on Jacob and Moses. The insight on how God changed the label on Jacob was inspiring and a great reminder that our identity is in Christ alone. Keller’s insights on where our credibility comes from, concerning Moses, was also excellent. “God told Moses his credibility had nothing to do with his capability, it had everything to do with God’s ability” (p. 161).

Another great quote from the book, this time from the chapter on Paul, was: “Paul’s pain and past became his platform…Paul’s past positioned him to be used by God in the future” (p. 34).

Throughout the book Keller tells pieces of his story as the founder/planter of Next Level Church, which I found very interesting. As someone who is fascinated with church planting, I would have enjoyed reading even more about that journey.

Overall I appreciate the heart of the book and I do think it would be a great book for younger Christians and those who may feel defeated in their walk with Christ. God of the Underdogs would also be a great resource for small group discussions.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “God of the Underdogs” by Matt Keller

  1. What a great concept for a book! I only chanced across this blog by accident just now, but I wanted to thank you for this review. Not sure where you’re from, but here in Australia, there is a real culture of “supporting the underdog” both in sport and in life. This kind of a book would really appeal to an Australian Christian audience, I think. I love that it sounds like makes personalities from Scripture real and accessible. Glad I stumbled across your blog tonight!

Leave a Reply

