God's Not Dead

It’s ironic, but I was skeptical about this book which addresses the questions of those who are skeptical about the existence of God. I think the discussion of the existence of God is incredibly important for both those who believe in God and those who don’t, but when the subject is approached by Christians in a flippant and/or unprepared manner, I think it does far more damage than good.

With that said, I was pleased to read Broocks book God’s Not Dead and found that he did a great job approaching this subject from numerous angles and with reasonable care.

As someone who already believes in God, I found this book to be an encouragement and a reaffirmation of truths I hold dear. I also learned some things I didn’t know and feel it definitely does a good job in helping Christians articulate why it is we believe in the existence of God. If I was reading this book as someone who didn’t believe in God, I think it would be a great starting point, and resource for asking strong questions.

What I liked most about this book was how it uses science, philosophy, logic, and history as the foundation of most of it’s propositions. Broocks absolutely talks about faith, but he also does a good job of hilighting the evidence for God that is all around us. Another thing I liked was how Broocks discussed many of Richard Dawkins & Christopher Hitchens positions on God (two of our generations most regarded atheists).

Probably one of the most encouraging and profound parts of the book for me was the story of Ming Wang, MD, PhD. Wang is a Harvard and MIT honors graduate and one of very few cataract and LASIK surgeons in the world who holds a doctorate in laser physics. He performed the world’s first 3-D LASIK and was one of the first surgeons in the US to perform laser cataract surgery (has now performed over 55,000). This highly educated man of science also went from being an atheist to being a follower of Jesus while he was a student. Wang said: “Actually, the more I learned about science, the more – not less – evidence that I saw of God’s creation and design…I realized that there is absolutely no way that an intricate structure such as a human eye could ever evolve from a random compilation of cells. The very complexity of a human eye is, in fact, the most powerful evidence of the existence of God” (p. 220).

One of the things I didn’t like about the book was on p. 11 & 15 when it mentions those who have died at the hands of people who held Islamic, atheist, or naturalistic belief systems as an argument for the God of the Bible. In my opinion this is always a weak argument due to the fact that “Christians” throughout history have done disgusting and horrible things in the name of God. Extremists from any belief system can never be used to represent the whole. Thankfully this was only a brief mention in the book and in no way is the book built on this argument.

Although some of the book is a little heady, I would highly recommend it to anyone, but especially to Christian’s who are moving from high school to college and may find themselves in a sea of questions regarding their faith in God.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

rice_broocks

2 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘God’s Not Dead’ by Rice Broocks

Leave a Reply

