sermon series

The church in Pergamum seemed to do a good job of navigating the cultural pressures that were trying to lure/force them to walk away from God, but they seemed to suffer from internal issues of false teaching, which led them to compromise in their relationship with God.

Q. How do you discern what is truth (from God) and what is false?

The church in Revelation 2:12-17 was being corrected by Jesus because the Christians were living according to perverted theology  (understanding of God and truth). They began to compromise in their faith.

As followers of Jesus we need to be able to discern what is truth (which leads to life) and what are lies (which lead to death).

Three primary ways of discerning the truth are: prayer, scripture, and community.

Q. How often do you pray? (John 10:27)

Q. How often do you find yourself reading & studying scripture? (Joshua 1:8; Psalm 119:9, 11, 105)

Q. Are you doing life with other followers of Jesus? (Hebrews 10:25)

To those in Pergamum who compromised in their faith, Jesus called them to repent (to change or turn) so that they could experience His fullness.

Q. Do you see compromise in your spiritual integrity?

Q. Have you examined your life through: prayer, scripture, and community?

It is absolutely incredible to me how God has used His Word and the Holy Spirit to chase after the hearts of His creation for thousands of years. In scripture we don’t find condemnation, we find love, grace, and a passionate God who longs to have His creation know Him to the fullest.

You can find the sermon this study is based on HERE.

3 thoughts on “The Compromising Church

  1. This is the kind of questions that really makes me look deep inside. knowing that Times now can be hard but back in this time it was a reality that it could be your life you might be giving up. It puts it in perspective when we worry about what people think to the point that we are not a light or people can’t see any difference in US. I for one have much work to do. As I strive to be a light for Him, I find that time in His word sheds light on me witch inturn I Pray it radiates to others.

  2. I have to admit when I read the 2nd to the last question I feel sometime I run through life with my head up not seeing Gods Grace until I fall over the things that make me fall spiritually short. once I fall over them then I go stupid Gods grace has been here all along if you’d just look through life through the lens of the last question.

Leave a Reply

