Neighbors and Wise Men is not the kind of book I typically read. This book is a collection of life experiences from the author Tony Kriz, from all over the world and with all kinds of people, but all tied together as being sacred encounters that led to personal transformation.

I never suggest someone read the end of a book before starting at the beginning, but I actually found when reading the closing that I wished I would have read that first. The style of the book, snap shots of periods of his life and some of his theological ideas, made the book less appealing for me to read at times, but while reading the closing of the book, you really get a powerful glimpse of the humility the author has and a transparency that he still hasn’t figured it out yet (who has?) and that he’s still very much on the journey of discovering a greater understanding of himself, the world, and God (as we all should be).

So this isn’t a “heavy” book and is one that could be picked up and put down numerous times, but nonetheless I think that it has some rich stories in it and with those stories, some great questions to wrestle with. For example probably the standout chapter for me was chapter 3, called; “Holy Kiss”. This chapter has a great cross cultural story and some challenging thoughts on the idea of ‘The Gospel’ and physical touch. 

Overall I think this is a pretty good book. A light read with some great nuggets of wisdom.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

