I just finished watching the Foo Fighters film Back and Forth for the third time and I loved it just as much as I did the first time. If you are a fan of the Foo Fighters this film is a must see (caution: film contains some ‘colorful language’).

Back and Forth covers the history of the Foo Fighters starting with Dave Grohl while he was still in Nirvana and finishing with the making of the the Foo Fighters latest record Wasting Light. I appreciate how thorough James Moll and the band was in going from album to album and describing in great detail both the ups and downs inside the band.

What makes the film that much more interesting is how honest each of the band members (and former band members) were concerning the difficult times in the bands history. At times it actually gets quite uncomfortable and even pretty sad. Hearing from William Goldsmith (bands original drummer) and Franz Stahl (bands second lead guitarist) was heartbreaking. You could see and hear that being in the Foo Fighters meant the world to them and that the circumstances surrounding their departures crushed them.

I was first introduced to the Foo Fighters in my senior year of high school when my alarm clock woke me up with the song “Big Me” off their first record. A year later I bought my first Guitar World magazine (with the Foo Fighters on the cover) and with it I began learning how to play guitar. The Foo Fighters have been one of my favorite bands ever since.

Dave Grohl is without question one of the most talented musicians in rock history (see: Nirvana, Foo Fighters, and Them Crooked Vultures). This film is a great tribute to an incredible musician and one of the biggest bands in the world. Back and Forth is worth every single one of the 140 minutes it takes to watch it.

My Top 10 Foo Fighter Songs:

“I’ll Stick Around” (Foo Fighters)

“Wattershed” (Foo Fighters)

“Monkey Wrench” (The Colour and the Shape)

“My Hero” (The Colour and the Shape)

“Everlong” (The Colour and the Shape)

“Aurora” (There Is Nothing Left to Lose)

“All My Life” (One By One)

“Best of You” (In Your Honor)

“The Pretender” (Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace)

“I Should Have Known” (Wasting Light)

Honorable Mention:

“Stacked Actors” (There Is Nothing Left to Lose)

“Home” (Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace)

Leave a Reply

