I’ve always got to have music around me. Whether it’s while driving, sitting at my computer, running, cooking, or by grabbing a guitar and playing. Sometimes music is just background noise and it’s just there to keep you company. But every once in a while you hear a song that really matters.

These kinds of songs go far beyond just being music and they connect with you at a much deeper level. Listening to the song becomes a spiritual thing. What the singer is singing are the words you’ve been looking for, and the music resonates with the song that’s been playing inside of you, music you’ve always felt, but you haven’t heard until now. These are the songs you play over and over and over.

These are two of those kinds of songs for me.

“Beautiful Things” by Gungor (Beautiful Things)

This song just crushed me after I lost a great friend last year. I needed a sense of hope. I needed to be reminded that God, even in the midst of pain and brokenness, can still bring forth beauty and life. I needed to be reminded that God hasn’t lost control. This song was such a comfort in the middle of incredible sorrow and thousands of questions. God’s story isn’t finished when tragedy happens. God isn’t handcuffed when our worlds fall apart. He is always at work rescuing, restoring, and redeeming, and one day we will see the culmination of His work.

“Knocked Out” by Bleach (Again, For the First Time)

Lyrically I love the whole song, as it’s so raw and honest and passionate. But the line that gets me every time says: “I will sing at the top of my lungs – I will dance even if I’m the only one”. To me that line just speaks to a fearlessness that I’ve always wanted but have never had the courage to live out. I remember the first time I heard this song was when I saw the band live in Buffalo NY, and while standing in the middle of this huge crowd I found my eyes starting to fill with tears. Every time I hear this song it always moves me deeply. It’s one of those songs I just want to sing with every ounce of who I am.

3 thoughts on “Songs That Matter

  1. With me, I’d say “In My Life”, and “Here, There and Everywhere” by the Beatles are my all-time favorites. However, I’m finding that a “go to” song that I really like is “With God On Our Side” by Bob Dylan. I guess when it comes to music, I’m more of an Evolutionist than an adherent to the Big Bang theory of the origin of Rock and Roll.

  2. Yes, “Beautiful things” really is a wonderful song…one that really does something to me on a deep level is “On my cross” by FFH….

Leave a Reply

