As a guitar player you are always looking for “sounds”. I’ve been playing guitar for about 14 years, and during that time I have been on a constant search for “sounds”. This search for that “sound” has led me on a journey of buying and selling gear. There are certain pieces of gear that you know you’ll hold on to forever, and then there are other pieces of gear that seem to only be around for a season.

I love my current set up:

[Acoustic] – Lowden LSEII (with: LR Baggs Para-Acoustic DI & Boss TU-2)

[Electric] – Gibson Explorer, Fender Telecaster (American), Epiphone Valensi, Reverend Warhawk

[Amp] – Line 6 Spider Valve 212

[Effects] – Boss TU-2 Tuner, Boss TR-2 Tremolo, Boss GE-7 Equalizer, Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor, Dunlop Cry Baby Wah, Digitech Whammy, Line 6 DL-4 Delay, Danelectro Dan Echo Delay.

As much as I love my current set up, there are always pieces of gear that you regret getting rid of. For example I owned a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe amp that I should probably never have sold – what an incredible clean sound that amp had. Then there was the Electro-Harmonix Small Clone Chorus pedal that had such interesting and unique sounds. But the one piece of gear I regret selling the most and wish I had back was my first real guitar: a manchester blue Epiphone Supernova. I owned one for years but due to the style of music I was playing at the time I just had no need for it, and sadly did not look past the moment and sold it.

That guitar was gorgeous, it felt great to play, and the sound was so thick and rich. So as I look back on the gear I have parted ways with, the one piece I definitely regret letting go was my Epiphone Supernova. Now back to my daily routine of scouring Craigslist and eBay searching for its replacement.

Leave a Reply

