RSS Feed

Mondays With My Old Pastor by Jose Luis Navajo

Mondays With My Old Pastor is a story written about a friendship between a pastor on the edge of burn out and his childhood pastor who is now retired. The story centers on meetings they would have every Monday where the pastor would just sit in the presence of his old pastor and receive both encouragement and challenge.

The author Jose Luis Navajo does an incredible job of pulling you into the friendship and bond between these two men. As a reader you feel as though you yourself are sitting in the room receiving this rich wisdom from an honorable man who has lived a full God honoring life.

The only thing I had a hard time connecting with in this book was the authors writing style in a few parts. In the beginning I felt he went a little overboard in how he described everything. Some of the descriptors just didn’t seem necessary. Also there were a few parts that seemed a bit unbelievable with how perfectly things fit together between dreams the younger pastor was having and his experience with the old pastor. Nothing major at all, just was a bit much for me at times.

Overall I didn’t find the book to be ground breaking in its content, but rather it was packed full of reminders of vital truths that can be easily forgotten in the speed and complexity of day to day life. For example, as a preacher and teacher myself, this quote on page 146 was especially powerful for me as it reminded me of how desperately I need to stay connected with God in prayer and in scripture.

“I kept on giving advice because my brain was functioning, but that advice lacked the freshness of heaven. I spoke from the pulpit like one who has to say something, not like someone who has something to say.” 

I think anyone could read this story and take away incredible deep truths, but this is especially written for pastors. Without question I would highly recommend it to pastors as a reminder of the things we can so easily forget. I found this to be a refreshing and much needed infusion of encouragement and a reminder of what I’ve been called to.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

